300px BluescopeWIN Community Fund logo_FINAL_New logo_on top

BlueScopeWIN Community Partners

The BlueScopeWIN Community Partners program sees two iconic businesses in the Illawarra joining forces to create a local community support fund.

The BlueScopeWIN partnership contributes a significant amount to projects and programs that meet real needs in the Illawarra and have been strong supporters of Surf Life Saving for many years.


Wollongong City Council

Wollongong is located 80km south of Sydney on a narrow coastal strip bordered by the Royal National Park to the north, Lake Illawarra to the south, the Tasman Sea to the east and the Illawarra Escarpment to the west.

Wollongong is Australia’s ninth largest city with a population approaching 200,000. The City of Wollongong local government area is represented by a Council comprising a Lord Mayor and 12 Councillors.


Sydney Water

Sydney Water has  worked with the Illawarra and South Coast Surf Life Saving Clubs for 15 years.

The Surf Premiership Series, affectionately known as ‘the Sydney Water’, runs over five carnivals from October to  December annually.

Coledale Logo Portraite

Coledale Camping Reserve

The Coledale Surf Life Saving Club operates a small and unique grassy campsite that borders right onto the golden sand of Coledale beach  which is beautifully sandwiched between the rolling blue surf of the pacific and the rolling green tree canopy of the Illawarra escarpment.

RRR Logo

Risk Response & Rescue

Risk Response and Rescue are specialists in safety and emergency management in high risk operations and environments.

They conducted nationally accredited training throughout Australia and abroad in some of the most hostile environments, spanning marine, alpine, deserts and underground. Risk Response and Rescue have a distinguished reputation of respect and credibility in the fields of risk, response and rescue.

As “Trainers of the Trainers” they are widely recognised as applying “world’s best practice”. Their services are regarded as a benchmark.

Sharon Bird

Sharon Bird, MP

Sharon Bird MP has been the Federal Member for Cunningham (New South Wales) since October 2004.

Ms Bird was Shadow Minister for Vocational Education on the 18 October 2013 until July 2016. Ms Bird served as Minister for Regional Development, Minister for Regional Communications and Minister for Road Safety from 1 July 2013.

Before entering parliament, Ms Bird worked as a high school and TAFE teacher and worker with the NSW Department of Juvenile Justice.


Senator the Hon Concetta Fierravanti – Wells, Senator for NSW

Concetta Fierravanti-Wells is currently the Minister for International Development and the Pacific. Concetta was first appointed to the Senate for New South Wales in 2005.

For 25 years before entering the Senate, the Minister was involved in many different community organisations and activities including as a founding board director of a nursing home in Wollongong at age 23 years to the Board of Father Chris Riley’s Youth off the Streets for four years, with two years as Chairman.

Stephen Jones Labor MHR for Throsby (100360)

Stephen Jones, MP

Elected to the House of Representatives for Throsby, New South Wales, 2010 and 2013. Following the 2016 redistribution the Division of Throsby became the Division of Whitlam. Mr Jones was re-elected as member for Whitlam in 2016.

Stephen completed a BA (History and Politics) at the University of Wollongong, while working on various local health services and youth projects, before moving on to a law degree.

Stephen stepped down as the National Secretary of the Community and Public Sector Union CPSU, one of Australia’s largest and most progressive unions in 2010 to focus on his election campaign.

Gareth Ward, MP

Gareth Ward, MP

Gareth Ward has been the member for Kiama since 2011.

Prior to entering Parliament, Mr Ward attended the University of Wollongong and holds Bachelor’s Degrees in Arts, Commerce and Law.  Mr Ward served as a Councillor on Shoalhaven City Council from 2004 – 2012. He has held positions on several boards including the Wollongong UniCentre and the NSW Local Government Association.

Mr Ward is currently a member of the Parliamentary Friends of Surf Life Saving.


Ryan Park, MP

Ryan Park has been the Member for Keira since March 2011.

Prior to becoming a Member of Parliament Mr Park attended Wollongong University where he completed his Bachelor of Education (BEd (Hons)), and Master of Education – Leadership and Management (MEd). He also received the University Medal, Wollongong University in 2000.

He went on to work as a high school teacher at Lake Illawarra High School and then worked in the Department of Education as a Curriculum Adviser before starting his career as a political adviser from 2004 to 2009. He was then appointed Deputy Director General for Transport NSW before being elected as the Member for Keira.


Lee Evans, MP

Lee Evans was elected to NSW Parliament as Member for Heathcote in 2011. Mr Evans  currently holds the role of Temporary Speaker.

Mr Evans is an active member of many local community groups.  Before entering Parliament worked as a qualified chef and held the role of Food Supply and Purchasing Manager for the Olympic Village in 2000. He was also employed by TAFE NSW as a Hospitality and Tourism Teacher and subsequently owned and operated a wholesale gourmet food business.


Paul Scully, MP

Paul Scully was elected as Member for Wollongong in the NSW Parliament on 12 November 2016.
He attended Mount Kembla Primary School and Figtree High School then graduated from the University of Wollongong. Prior to being elected Mr Scully was the Chief Operating Officer of the Australian Institute for Innovative Materials at the University of Wollongong’s Innovation Campus. 

Anna Watson, MP

Anna Watson was elected to NSW Parliament as Member of Shellharbour in March 2011.

Prior to her election to Parliament, Anna worked a variety of jobs, including in customer service, training for the health insurance industry, and as a trade union official with the United Services Union (USU).

Ms Watson supports many community groups in the Shellharbour electorate, including surf life savings clubs, sporting and cultural associations.

Gordon Bradbery 150 x 110

Lord Mayor Councillor Gordon Bradbery, OAM

Lord Mayor Councillor Gordon Bradbery OAM was first elected to Wollongong City Council in 2011. Mr Bradbery has previously been Chaplain to NSW Police, Rural Fire Service, RSL Padre and Administrator of Wollongong Mission of the Uniting Church and was Minister of the Church on the Mall for 15 years. His services to the community earned him an OAM.

For 15 years he also served as Chairperson of Lifeline South Coast, was a board member of Unanderra Care Services (aged care service) and served as an advocate for homeless and mental health services.


Mark Vassella

Mr Vassella was appointed Chief Executive BlueScope Australia and New Zealand on 1 July 2011. He leads all major operations in Australia and New Zealand including the Company’s key operations at Port Kembla (NSW) and Western Port (VIC), and New Zealand Steel located at Glenbrook, south of Auckland.

Previously, Mr Vassella was President, BlueScope Steel North America and before that was Chief Executive Australian Distribution and Solutions. He joined the Company following BlueScope’s acquisition of Smorgon Steel Distribution in 2007.